Skip to Content

Mark Woodley Named Iowa Sportscaster Of The Year

Mark Woodley photo for press release

WATERLOO, IA (KWWL) – KWWL’s Mark Woodley has been named the Iowa Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sports Media Association. 

The National Sports Media Association & Hall of Fame is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, which seeks to develop educational opportunities for those who are interested in pursuing a career in sports media, through networking, interning, mentoring and scholarship programs. 

The NSMA also honors, preserves and celebrates the diverse legacy of sports media in the United States. 

“Honestly, it was an incredible honor just to be nominated with three of the best of all-time in the state of Iowa - Keith Murphy, John Walters and Gary Dolphin - who are not only incredible broadcasters, but some of the best people you'll ever meet,” says Woodley. “Now, being able to join them as a recipient of this honor is something I never could have imagined,“ he continues.  

“We have so many incredibly talented sports journalists in this state, people I have the utmost respect for, and what makes this truly special is the fact that this honor is voted on by them,” adds Woodley. “I'm shocked and honored to be their selection this year.” 

Woodley grew up in Dike, Iowa and attended Central College in Pella. He started as an intern at KWWL in 2000, and returned to the station as a sports reporter in 2004. In addition to sports reporting, Woodley anchors the weekend sportscasts on KWWL.   

Some of Woodley’s most memorable sports coverage was ISU’s Elite 8 run in 2000, UNI in the Sweet 16 in 2010, Iowa’s run to the Rose Bowl in 2015, and covering so many great high school athletes and coaches in Eastern Iowa. In addition, Woodley has covered bowl games, NCAA tournaments, NFL football, Stanley Cup playoffs and more.  

The National Sports Media Association will honor its winners and Hall of Fame inductees during the organization’s 61st awards weekend, tentatively set for June 26-28, 2021, in Winston-Salem, N.C. 

For a complete list of winners and more about the NSMA, visit 

For more information about Mark Woodley and KWWL, visit 

Author Profile Photo


Skip to content